First Yard Long Beans

The yard long bean plant has been doing well (see recent growth). This week, we had some grow enough that I just had to harvest them and have a taste.

yard long beans in hand

It was just two beans so I couldn’t do much with them. I just chopped them and sauteed in a little bit of olive oil for a few minutes.

Sauteed yard long beans

Then added some pre-made potato leek soup and simmered until hot.

Potato leek soup with beans

They had a nice flavor – the rumors are true that they have a similar taste to asparagus. Also they were nice and crunchy even after cooking. They didn’t get soft like bush beans usually do.

I’m looking forward to getting a bit more creative with them once we have a significant harvest. There are at least 4 more beans growing so I think we’ll be in good shape pretty soon.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gwen on August 28, 2012 at 3:02 am

    You can pickle beans!

    Reply

    • Posted by steadfastlibrarian on August 28, 2012 at 2:23 pm

      Ah, yes, good idea! I think you can pickle pretty much anything. I’d like to try pickled carrots and cauliflower in the winter, too!

      Reply

  2. […] crop at the very end of the season. While the three sisters beans were a bust, the purple beans and yard long beans did alright. Yard long bean plant in […]

    Reply

Leave a comment